ISTE 4 – Digital Citizenship

Teachers understand local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in their professional practices. 

  1. Advocate, model, and teach safe, legal, and ethical use of digital information and technology, including respect for copyright, intellectual property, and the appropriate documentation of sources 
  2. Address the diverse needs of all learners by using learner-centered strategies providing equitable access to appropriate digital tools and resources 
  3. Promote and model digital etiquette and responsible social interactions related to the use of technology and information 
  4. Develop and model cultural understanding and global awareness by engaging with colleagues and students of other cultures using digital age communication and collaboration tool

Now with the advancing technology, I think that it is more important then ever to educate our students about the good and bad sides of technology. Students seem to be unaware of the shelf life of images, comments, or tweets that they send out on the internet. As a budding teacher, I think it is vital to educate our students about how to deal with technology safely and appropriately.

In the art classroom, quite frequently the topic of copyright infringement is brought up. It is important to remind students that use of their original artwork is important. I read an article detailing 5 of the most famous infringement cases and I found it to be something my students were incredibly interested in. I understand that we need to feel inspired so I recommend to my students to look for images that are copyright free. http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/ is an excellent resource for finding images that are not copyrighted. Users simply have to click a box saying they agree to the terms of use and then enter a code proving they are human and they have access to high quality digital photos.

4 thoughts on “ISTE 4 – Digital Citizenship

  1. I have a friend working on a degree in music production and he has to take a law class because of all the copyright issues. How do you see your students using this as a part of your class? How do you want to segway into copyright? In other classes we talk about plagiarism, maybe that would be a good way?

    • Yes. I agree about bringing it up when talking about plagarism. I talked with my class already about having their friends “help” with their project and how that is similar to having someone write their paper. I have discussed this with my class and they were specifically interested in the Koons case.

  2. I have had to talk with my class about plagiarism. Frequently I will overhear students asking their friends to do their projects. So when I started teaching my own content I reminded them about plagiarizing. Just like any other content area, students are expected to do their own work. Then I would talk about copyright issues and give the famous examples.

  3. I found your use of the term “shelf life” for the length of time online posts stick around to be really descriptive! Along with the copyright/plagiarism discussions, would you also talk to your students about how to protect their own work if they decide to pursue art as a career?

Leave a Reply

