Setting Objectives and Providing Feedback (Module 1)

This week, we were asked to read Chapter One from Classroom Instruction That Works. This book is meant to provide teacher candidates with research-based strategies for increasing student achievement. In chapter one, the discussion about setting objectives and providing feedback. I feel as though I am already quite skilled at providing feedback and setting clear objectives for my students. 

Despite the fact that I knew I should be providing these objectives for students, I never really thought about why it would be important. “Being in a classroom without knowing the direction for learning is similar to taking a purposeless trip to an unfamiliar city” (Dean, 2012). By providing clear learning objectives, students are able to focus, anxiety will be diminished in the classroom, and students will be able to self regulate. In my opinion, students that can self regulate projects or learning tactics naturally become deeper thinkers and their work is more developed.  It is this strategy that was something I found to be the most important aspect of this chapter. “Providing opportunities for students to personalize the learning objectives identified by the teacher can increase their motivation for learning. Students feel a greater sense of control over what they learn when they can identify how the learning is relevant to them” (Dean, 2012). 

As an art teacher, it have discovered that it is my goal to get students to be able to perform tasks without needing me to walk them through every step. In my internship, I was careful to scaffold my lectures so that progressively students would have more control over their projects. I discovered that most students were not  able to do this. Dean, suggested the K-W-L chart as a way to help students regulate themselves. This is a chart that students can use to record “what they know, what they want to know, and what they learned as a result of the lesson or unit” (Dean, 2012).

After reading this, I realized that maybe I was not as skilled as I believed myself to be when discussing objectives and feedback. Using the rubric found in the handbook portion of my reading, I rated myself a 20 out of 24. I believe that I can better address students tracking their own process. This can be done by their having a KWL chart or having an “If/Then” chart. I will know I have done this correctly when my students will be able to clearly explain what the outcome is and what will need to be accomplished in order to get there.

Dean, C. B. (2012). Setting Objectives and Providing Feedback. Classroom instruction that works research-based strategies for increasing student achievement (2nd ed., ). Alexandria, Va.: ASCD.

20140701-145633-53793748.jpg

20140701-145632-53792966.jpg

20140701-145631-53791982.jpg

Leave a Reply

